



Comment on suggestion 9

12 Buckets

1 page



Wednesday, 4 November 2020

Dear Commissioners,

We are grateful for this opportunity to make a submission on Western Australia's Federal redistribution.

I represent 12 Buckets, a Perth based charity that develops more resilient school students with the opportunity to thrive through one-to-one mentoring. Mentors support students with the development of skills that enable them to connect within their own communities. 12 Buckets is a place for connection and a place to be challenged to grow. We are very community focused.

We wish to make a submission in relation to the suburbs of Balga, Mirrabooka, Girrawheen and Koondoola. Currently the suburbs of Girrawheen and Koondoola are in the Division of Cowan, while the suburbs of Balga and Mirrabooka are in the Division of Stirling. These suburbs form a community of interest and we believe the redistribution process should bring them into the same Division.

Because 12 Buckets operates on the ground in these suburbs, we know that effective political representation is vital for the area. Being unified into the same Division would strengthen the representation afforded to these suburbs and their shared interests in the Federal Parliament.

We believe the best option for the Commission would be to transfer the suburbs of Balga and Mirrabooka into the Division of Cowan.

We thank you for considering our suggestions that the above mentioned suburbs be kept in the same electorate. Yours sincerely,

Nicki McKenzie Chief Executive Office 12 Buckets Inc.